street 2.jpg

Write, Call, or Post

Our Message to Decision Makers

Our community is not against expansion of the transit system. We do however object to a plan that adversely affects the health and well-being of thousands of residents. There will be a negative environmental impact, and the learning environment for school children will be jeopardized. Tax payers will be burdened with the cost.

The lasting legacy of the “Option 3” subway extension will NOT prove something to be proud of. Please change this plan before it is too late!

Our “Keep the Subway on Yonge” advocacy efforts are focused on convincing decision makers to review and reject “Option 3”. We are confident there is a better solution to suit all stakeholders.

 

We believe

  • Businesses and developers on Yonge Street will benefit from the YNSE staying on Yonge

  • There is NO rationale to build a subway line through the heart of a residential neighbourhood, tunnelling under schools, a ravine and dozens of homes.

  • NO GUARANTEE the ongoing mitigation suggested by Metrolinx to keep schools and homes safe and comfortable, will be delivered.

  • Option 3 is “all pain, no gain” for Royal Orchard.

    • Years of noise / vibration / tremors / possible property damage

    • Schools, Hundreds of homes – thousands of residents affected

    • Negative environmental and health impacts

The current plan will devastate our neighbourhood and could be a very costly mistake.

Sample Communication Letter/Email

Dear [Decision Maker],

 

I am aware of the Metrolinx plan to tunnel under and adjacent to schools, homes, and the Royal Orchard Park Ravine to build the Yonge North Subway Extension. I am very concerned about all of the short and long term negative impacts resulting from this plan, including noise, vibration, environmental impacts, health impacts and long-term costs. Please reject this plan before it is too late!

The lasting legacy of the “Option 3” subway extension will not prove something to be proud of. Please select a better option.

 

Thank you,
[Your name]

Markham & York Region Council

Keith Irish

Counsillor Ward 1, Thornhill, Markham

E:  kirish@markham.ca

T: 905.948.5101

@KeithIrish1

markhamward1.ca

Frank Scarpitti

Mayor, Markham

E: mayorscarpitti@markham.ca

T: 905.475.4872

@frankscarpitti

 

Don Hamilton

Deputy Mayor, Markham

E: dhamilton@markham.ca

T: 905.415.7549

@donhamilton_

Jack Heath

Regional Councillor, Markham

E: jheath@markham.ca

T: 905.415.7506

 

Joe Li

Regional Councillor, Markham

E:  joeli@markham.ca

T: 905.479.7749

Wayne Emmerson

Chairman and CEO, Region of York

E: Wayne.Emmerson@york.ca

T: 877.464.9675

Tom Mrakas

Mayor, Town of Aurora

E: Tmrakas@aurora.ca

T: 905.727.3123

 

Virginia Hackson

Mayor, Town of East Gwillimbury

E: vhackson@eastgwillimbury.ca

T: 905.478.4283

 

Margaret Quick

Mayor, Town of Georgina

E: mquirk@georgina.ca

T : 905.476.4301

 

Robert Grossi

Regional Councillor, Town of Georgina

E: rgrossi@georgina.ca

T: 905.476.4301 

 

Steve Pellegrini

Mayor, Township of King

E: spellegrini@king.ca

T: 905.833.5321

 

Jim Jones

Regional Councillor, City of Markham

E: jjones@markham.ca

T: 905.479.7757

 

John Taylor

Mayor, Town of Newmarket

E: jtaylor@newmarket.ca

T: 905.953.5300

 

Tom Vegh

Regional Councillor, Town of Newmarket

E: tvegh@newmarket.ca

T: 905.895.5193

 

Joe DiPaola 

Acting Mayor, City of Richmond Hill

E: joe.dipaola@richmondhill.ca

T: 905.771.2498

 

Carmine Perrelli

Regional Councillor, City of Richmond Hill (Deputy Mayor)

E: carmine.perrelli@richmondhill.ca

T: 905.771.2517

 

Godwin Chan

Ward 6 Councillor, City of Richmond Hill    

E: godwin.chan@richmondhill.ca

T: 905.771.2509

 

Iain Lovatt

Mayor, Town of Whitchurch-Stouffville

E: mayor@townofws.ca

T: 905.640.1910

 

Maurizio Bevilacqua       

Mayor, City of Vaughan

E: maurizio.bevilacqua@vaughan.ca

T: 905.832.2281

 

Mario Ferri

Deputy Mayor, Local & Regional Councillor, City of Vaughan

E: mario.ferri@vaughan.ca

T: 905.832.2281

 

Gino Rosati 

Local & Regional Councillor, City of Vaughan

E: gino.rosati@vaughan.ca

T: 905.832.2281

 

Linda Jackson      

Local & Regional Councillor, City of Vaughan

E: linda.jackson@vaughan.ca

T: 905.832.2281

Provincial / Federal

Office of the Premier of Ontario

E: premier@ontario.ca

T: 416.325.1941

@fordnation

 

Hon. Caroline Mulroney

Minister of Transportation

E: caroline.mulroney@pc.ola.org
E: minister.mto@ontario.ca

T: 416.327.9200

@C_Mulroney

Gila Martow

Member of Parliament, Thornhill

E: gila.martow@pc.ola.org

T: 905.415.7506

 

Melissa Lantsman

Member of Parliament, Thornhill

E:  melissa.lantsman@parl.gc.ca

T: 905.886.9911

Twitter

@Metrolinx

#MetrolinxFYI

@YongeSubwayEXT

#YongeSubwayExt

@cityofmarkham

#MarkhamNews

#greenMarkham

#Thornhill

@YorkRegionGovt

#YorkRegion

Related community sites

savejimmiesimpson.ca

theyra.org